Life Coaching as a poem?

For weeks something has been gnawing at me concerning the direction of my poetry.  I knew I wanted to write poems that inspired and motivated others; encouraging them to raise up the success of their lives. And I’ve been reading motivational poems and inspirational poems but something was just “off” to me about the poems in relation to what I feel pulled to write. That type of poetry seemed more spiritual,  soul searching, and geared to those dealing with a personal crisis like an addiction or depression.

That crowd was not my focus.  Then I started thinking about life coaches. Started thinking about books by Dale Carnegie, Napoleon Hill’s Think and Grow Rich, books by Robert Kiyosaki and Tony Robbins. I wanted to write poetry for that crowd of readers. That’s the audience I’m looking for. All motivated to succeed and rise above the norm.

I started visiting the sites of life coaches and success teaching gurus. I figured if they can put success teachings in a book I can put them in a poem. I’m 100% convinced of this.

And I searched the net for this type of poetry and I can’t find a true category for it. I find quotes by the hundreds dedicated to personal success and achievement but poetry? Not hardly.

So that’s what I’ll focus on.  This should be interesting.

One response to “Life Coaching as a poem?

  1. That is definitely a unique target audience. Still, now that you know your audience, it’ll be better to organize your promotion strategy toward them.

Leave a comment